Skater’s house
25 October 2017
Mobil-box
25 October 2017

Photo House

Photo-House

Habitat nomade | Theoretical project 2016


The Photo-house has been designed as a nomadic habitat for a photographer friend, Cloe (also designer of this website!). It is a holiday house movable with a lorry. It is made of several elements placed one inside another, like russian dolls. These units fit within each other to ease transportation and when setting up, slide out.
That is when the Photo-house unfolds in the environment like a camera lens. The habitable surface is therefore optimised and the spaces created between the units become home to different functions. From the inside, those interstices cut out the scenery as frames of decreasing sizes.
By projecting the sleeping area above an empty space, at the heart of the structure, the mise en abime is finally achieved. This space is the only one provided with an airtight window. The other openings are only protected by translucent plastic strips allowing the units to slide in and out.
Therefore the inside of the photo-house is only partly protected against weather changes and surrounding wildlife. The purpose of that minimal comfort space is then to create a complete immersion in the environment in which it is set up.

Basculement
21 novembre 2016

Photo House

Photo-House

Habitat nomade | Projet théorique 2016


La Photo-House est un habitat nomade dessiné pour Cloé (web-designer de ce site), photographe et amie. C’est une réinterprétation du mobil-home, une maison de vacances déplaçable par camion et constituée d’éléments enchâssés les uns dans les autres, tels des poupées russes. Ces modules se compactent pour faciliter le transport, puis coulissent et s’écartent lors de son installation.
La Photo-house se développe alors dans son environnement à la manière d’un objectif d’appareil photo. La surface habitable est ainsi optimisée, et les différentes fonctions viennent prendre place dans les espaces libres entre les modules. Depuis l’intérieur ces interstices découpent le paysage en autant de cadres de dimension décroissante.
La mise en abime s’achève par la projection de l’espace nuit au dessus du vide, au cœur du dispositif. Cet espace est le seul doté d’une menuiserie étanche, les autres ouvertures sont uniquement protégées par des lamelles plastiques translucides, autorisant le glissement entre les modules.
L’intérieur de la photo-house n’est donc que partiellement isolé des variations climatiques ou de la faune environnante, c’est un espace de confort minimal pour des séjours en immersion complète dans le milieu où il s’installe.