Photo House
25 October 2017

Skater’s house

Skater's House

La maison de ville | Theoretical project 2016


The skater's house is an imaginary town house in a realistic context, when I was living in Montpellier with two other people between 2012 and 2015. The main issue with this building was a significant lack of luminosity due to the main facade facing north onto a narrow street. This project intends to solve this problem while offering a reflection on the public/private boundaries and on the importance of outside spaces in a dense historical urban context.
On that matter, it takes inspiration from the neighbouring courthouse designed by Bernard Kohn and its semi-circular patios overlooking the street. When applied to housing, this feature creates distance and improved luminosity which is greatly appreciated in the dense meshing of a historic urban centre. It also generates a discontinuity in the line of the facades, hence offering some breathing space in a residential neighbourhood where inhabitants tend to withdraw into hidden inner courtyards.
A semi-cylindrical hollow is carved out of the building to give space for a terrace with a tree. A skate ramp stands against the main wall, which is cut out in a semi-circle as a reminder of the shape. The double concavity of this space is then a perfect expression of the intended feeling of interiority. Two entrances are placed on each side of the terrace. One of them opens onto a garage and a teleworking space, and the other onto a kitchen and a living-room. The bedrooms are located upstairs and their built-in cupboards are placed along the outside wall, hence creating some distance to the street in order to avoid a too brutal connection to the city.
These rooms are accessible through a meandering mezzanine over the living room and the patio. Curves and counter-curves define the space with the whole house seeming to curl up around the central void.
The outside walls on the other hand, bring about something mineral, the robust image of protecting fortifications. However, the openings are not just holes in the walls, they are the fluid continuity of inner spaces pouring out onto the facade.

Le bunker du surfer
24 novembre 2016
Basculement
21 novembre 2016

Skater’s house

Skater's House

La maison de ville | Projet théorique 2016


La « skaters’ house » est une maison de ville théorique dotée d’un contexte réel : une colocation montpelliéraine pour trois (votre narrateur compris), de 2012 à 2015. Principalement orienté au Nord sur une étroite ruelle, le bâtiment présentait des contraintes de vis-à-vis et de manque de luminosité importantes. Le projet tente de résoudre ces problématiques tout en proposant une réflexion sur les gradations public/privé et la place des espaces extérieurs dans un contexte urbain historique dense.
A ce titre, il rend hommage à Bernard Kohn, architecte du Tribunal de Grande Instance voisin, et à ses patios semi-circulaires accolés à la rue. Appliqué au logement, ce dispositif apporte un recul et un gain de luminosité appréciables dans le tissu exigu d’un centre ancien. Il génère aussi un accident dans la continuité des façades, une respiration dans un quartier résidentiel marqué par le repli des résidents au sein de cours intérieures imperceptibles depuis la rue.
Un vide semi-cylindrique vient donc creuser le bâtiment et accueillir une terrasse plantée d’un arbre. Une rampe de skate s’adosse à la façade sur rue, laquelle se découpe d’un arc-de-cercle pour en décrire la silhouette. Le vide de ce semi-patio prend alors une dimension doublement concave, en parfaite adéquation avec l’expression d’intériorité recherchée. Deux accès sont disposés de part et d’autre de la terrasse : d’un côté un garage donnant sur un espace dédié au télétravail, et de l’autre la cuisine puis le séjour. Les chambres, elles, se répartissent à l’étage. Leurs placards sont disposés le long de la façade extérieure pour mettre à distance la rue, et éviter ainsi un rapport trop brutal à la ville.
Ces chambres sont desservies par une mezzanine serpentant au dessus du salon et du patio. L’espace glisse le long de courbes et contrecourbes, la maison toute entière semble se lover autour de son vide central.
Le traitement des parois extérieures renvoie lui à la minéralité, la robustesse et l’image de muraille protectrice des constructions avoisinantes. Les percements refusent néanmoins de se réduire à des trous dans les murs, la matière se plie ou s’étire comme pour prolonger la fluidité des espaces intérieurs sur la façade.